Timestamp: First Series Summary

Doctor Who: First Series Summary

Timestamp Logo First


A little behind baseball moment on my methodology: For the purposes of this blog, I’ll round the average ratings to one decimal point. Later on, I’ll use a weighted average to determine my overall rating for each Doctor based on the serials in their runs. A weighted average will compensate for the number of serials/episodes for each Doctor’s tenure. A straight average would mean that a couple of stinkers in a small number of serials could sink a Doctor like the Second or Sixth, but would have little effect in the Fourth Doctor’s seven-year run.

This way, the number of serials and tenure of any particular Doctor has a lower worth than the overall entertainment quality of their presentations.


An Unearthly Child – 3
The Daleks  – 4
The Edge of Destruction – 2
Marco Polo – 3
The Keys of Marinus – 4
The Aztecs – 5
The Sensorites – 2
The Reign of Terror – 5

Series One Average Rating: 3.5


UP NEXT – Doctor Who: Planet of Giants


The Timestamps Project is an adventure through the televised universe of Doctor Who, story by story, from the beginning of the franchise. For more reviews like this one, please visit the project’s page at Creative Criticality.


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.